NEWSLETTER MARCH 2018.

Hi All.

Well, the first round of this year's championship is now behind us. The ALMC, under the direction of CoC Raymond Scullion, ran an event which seemed to meet with the approval of all competitors. I was starting the second last selective and did a kind of impromptu survey, asking each crew if they enjoyed it – all said they did and their grins seemed to say it all, although I'm not sure if Robert Barrable enjoyed being pipped by one second by his brother!!

The entry was the second highest ever for an Endurance Trial and the club are to be congratulated on this. We were lucky on two counts – the spell of dry weather in the week leading up to the event meant that the selectives were in top-class condition and didn't cut up too much, despite repeated runs. The high entry also meant that the club were able to offer competitors entry to the championship without paying a fee. However, please send me your email address to naps@indigo.ie if you haven't already done so.

We were even more lucky with the date; as I write this, snow is bucketing down and it doesn't bear thinking about if we had this weather last Saturday.

Finally, thanks to Ted & Karen Gaffney, who supplied a pack of AUTOGLYM products to all competitors, even though they themselves were unable to compete due to family commitments – much appreciated.

Championship positions after round one: (5 points for starting)

Overall Drivers:	Points	:	Overall Navigators:	Points:	
1. Peter Barrable	20		Gary McElhinney		20
2. Robert Barrable	17		Ciaran Larkin	17	
3. Karl O'Donoghue.	15		Evin Hughes	15	
4. Kevin O'Rourke	14		Dave Ray	12	
5. Kevin Fitzgerald	13		Kevin Fagan	13	
6. John Farrelly	12		John Whelan	12	
7. Robert Howard	11		Claire Murtagh	11	
8. Glyn Gaffney	10		Alan Dolan	10	
9. Rod McGovern	9		Simon Echlin	9	
10. Derek Butler	8		Aaron O'Regan	8	
11. Graham O'Donoghue	7		Ian McCulloch	7	
12. Simon Evans	6		Maurice McMonagle	6	
13. Patrick Corcoran		5	Gary Egan		5
14. Enda Haran	5		Sean Heart	5	
15. Craig O'Rourke	5		Diarmuid Murphy	5	
16. Leigh Kavanagh		5	Art McCarrick		5

	17. Ciaran Garahy	5		Hannah Garahy	5	
	18. Ross Cullen	5		Shane Patton	5	
	19. Simon Love	5		Sean Conway	5	
	20. Nicole Drought	5		Ruth Nugent	5	
	21. Brian Duggan	5		Ken Carmody	5	
	22. Darragh Smyth	5		Benny Smyth	5	
	23. Brian Kirwan	5		Elaine Kirwan	5	
	24. David Byrne	5		Leane Carroll	5	
	25. Damien Treanor 5		5	Thomas Trean		
	26. Gary Bradley	5		Stephen Kennedy		5
	27. Noel Devlin	5		Ann Marie Mulvey	5	
	28. Ivor Roddy	5		Martin McAteer	5	
	29. Philip Dene	5		Jean Lawlor	5	
	30. Darren Moore	5		Ultan Bland	5	
	31. Ger Keane	5		Paul Sealy	5	
	32. Ryan Treanor	5		Robert Graham	5	
	33. Sean Daly	5		Dave O'Donoghue	5	
	34. Donal Smith	5		Trevor O'Brien	5	
	35. Sean Rountree	5		Eileen Vaughan	5	
CLA	SS 1A:					
	ole Drought n Kirwan	10 9		Ruth Nugent Elaine Kirwan	10 9	
CLA	SS 1B:					
DRI	VERS:			NAVIGATORS:		
Rob Karl Kevi Johr Rob Glyr Rod	er Barrable ert Barrable O'Donoghue in O'Rourke in Fitzgerald n Farrelly ert Howard n Gaffney McGovern ek Butler	10 9 7 6 5 4 3 2 1	8	Gary McElhinney Ciaran Larkin Evin Hughes Dave Ray Kevin Fagan John Whelan Claire Murtagh Alan Dolan Simon Echlin Aaron O'Regan	9 7 6 5 4 3 2 1	10 8

(If anyone spots an error in the above, please email me asap).

Finally, thanks to all those landowners who allowed us go careering around their properties. Without them, there would simply be no event.

Frank O'Donoghue.

Championship Registrar.